Quote

Sexism in the cult of Disney? Fictitious heroines one limited template? I don’t think so!

I am going to post a response to this article myself, but I like this one. This is my natural reaction to Beverley, but I’m going to read some opposing opinions and then get back to y’all.

***Don’t attribute her other views to me though because I’m not big on hating the word ‘feminist’ and she’s big on that.

Happiness in Learning

When I started writing this blog, I intended it to document our life as a new home educating family and to share some tips and activities about things which have worked for us.  My last post though was a tad – shall we say forthright?  I was passionate about the subject but after having said my bit, I was planning to go back to sharing some of the fun things Jasper and I have been up to.

But then I read an article which appeared in the Daily Telegraph yesterday, entitled ‘I’d happily blow the brains out of a Disney Princess’ written by Beverley Turner.  There are a lot of really valid points in the article; you can read it here but if you haven’t, the gist of the bit that drove me mad is essentially this:

The author fumes that ‘the cult of Disney’ brainwashes children into believing…

View original post 901 more words

Leave a Reply

