Why We Need Female Heroes and Superheroes

Comparative Geeks

Yasmin, Girl Rising, Cairo, Egypt

In June I discussed a little bit about my reaction to the film Girl Rising. It is an amazing film and I highly recommend seeing it if you can. My mom, my sister, and I were so inspired by the film that we decided to show it again to try and kick off a discussion about somethings happening in our own backyard. Part of why we wanted to show the film is because it is what got us thinking about the power of education and what it could do to solve a myriad of different problems. In watching the film again I came away with another important point and that is that we need female heroes and superheroes.

In many of the stories the girls discuss their power and how they were inspired by the strength of others. Many of the girls are where they are because of strength…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

